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Article 1.  Business Regulations and Licenses 

 

5-101 LICENSE REQUIREMENTS.  It shall be unlawful for any person, either as principal or 

agent, to carry on, engage in or pursue any of the trades, occupations or businesses as set out in 

this Article, without having first paid the prescribed license fee and obtained a license from the 

Public Safety Director. 

 

5-102 NEW GOODS PUBLIC AUCTIONS: LICENSE FEES.  The license fee for the conducting 

of a new goods public auction, as it is defined and regulated by sections 58-1014 through 1023 of 

the Kansas Statutes Annotated, shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each day that the 

applicant proposes to operate the public auction. (Code 1990)  

 

5-103 HAWKERS, PEDDLERS OR VENDORS.  For hawkers, peddlers or other vendors from 

stands, wagons, cars or other vehicles of any goods, wares, merchandise, fruits, vegetables or 

articles, and hawkers and peddlers or other vendors canvassing from place to place, or from 

house to house on foot, any goods, wares, merchandise, fruits, vegetables or other articles, the 

license fee shall be the sum of five dollars ($5.00) per day or twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per year: 

Provided, That said license fee shall not apply to hawkers, peddlers or vendors or producers, or 

their agents and employees, engaged in the sale of farm or garden products, or fruits grown by 

said persons within the State of Kansas.  There shall be no soliciting after five o'clock (5:00) P.M. 

(Code 1969)  

 

5-104 PENALTY.  Any person, corporation, partnership or association violating the provisions of 

this Article shall, upon conviction thereof, be fined in any amount not to exceed one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) or be imprisoned not to exceed thirty (30) days or be both so fined and 

imprisoned.  Each day during or on which a violation occurs or continues shall constitute a 

separate offense.  (Code 1969)  

 

 

Article 2.  Adult Entertainment 

 

5-201 RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE. 

 

5-202 DEFINITIONS.  For the purposes of this article and unless the context plainly requires 

otherwise, the following definitions are adopted: 

 

202.1 ADULT ENTERTAINMENT means any live exhibition, performance, display or 

dance of any type, including but not limited to, talking, singing, reading, listening, 

posing, serving food or beverages, soliciting for the sale of food, beverages or 

entertainment, pantomiming, modeling, removal of clothing, or any service offered 
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for amusement on a premises where such exhibition, performance, display or 

dance is intended to seek to arouse or excite the sexual desires of the entertainer, 

other entertainers or patrons. 

 

202.2 ADULT ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESS means any business including but not 

limited to: 

 

A. Adult media outlets; 

 

B. Adult motion picture theaters; 

 

C. Juice bars; 

 

D. Establishments providing live dancers, models, entertainers or other 

performers, having as a material portion of its business the offering of 

entertainment, stock in trade or materials, scenes or other presentations 

predominantly distinguished or characterized by emphasis or depiction or 

description of an erotic nature including, but not limited to, depiction or 

descriptions of "specified sexual activities" or "specified anatomical areas" 

(separately defined) to which the public, patrons or members are invited or 

admitted and wherein an entertainer, manager, or server, provides adult 

entertainment to a member of the public, a patron or a member. 

 

202.3 ADULT MEDIA means magazines, books, videotapes, movies, slides, 

paraphernalia or other media which are distinguished or characterized by their 

emphasis in matter depicting, describing or relating to "specified sexual activities" 

or "specified anatomical areas" (separately defined) 

 

202.4 ADULT MEDIA OUTLET means any establishment that rents, sells or offers for 

viewing or other use any adult media, and which meets at least one of the following 

tests:  (1) more than fifty percent of the gross floor area is devoted to adult media; 

(2) or more than fifty percent of the gross sales (including rentals) on an annual 

basis result from the sale or rental of adult media. 

 

202.5 ADULT MOTION PICTURE THEATER means an enclosed building used for 

presenting or showing, for money or other consideration, movie or video films or 

pictures or other materials distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on 

matter depicting, describing, or relating to "specified sexual activities" or "specified 

anatomical areas" (separately defined) for observation by customers therein. 

 

202.6 ENTERTAINER means any person who provides adult entertainment within an 

adult entertainment premises as defined in this section, whether or not a fee is 

charged or accepted for entertainment. 

 

202.7 MANAGER means any person who manages, directs, administers or is in charge 

of the affairs and/or conduct of any portion of any activity involving adult 

entertainment occurring at any adult entertainment premises. 
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202.8 OPERATOR means any person operating, conducting or maintaining an adult 

entertainment business. 

 

202.9 PERSON means any individual, partnership, trust, incorporated or unincorporated 

association, marital community, joint venture, governmental entity or other entity or 

groups of persons however organized. 

 

202.10 PUBLIC PLACE means any area generally visible to public view and includes 

streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots and 

automobiles whether moving or not. 

 

202.11 SERVER means any person who serves food or drink at an adult entertainment 

business. 

 

202.12 SPECIFIED ANATOMICAL AREAS means (1) uncovered or exposed human 

genitals, pubic region or pubic hair; or buttock; or female breast or breasts below a 

point immediately above the top of the areola or nipple; or any combination of the 

foregoing; or (2) human male genitals in a discernible erect state, even if 

completely and opaquely covered. 

 

202.13 SPECIFIED SEXUAL ACTIVITIES means sexual conduct, being actual or 

simulated, acts of human masturbation; sexual intercourse; or physical contact, in 

an act of apparent sexual stimulation or gratification, which a person's clothed or 

unclothed genitals, pubic areas, buttocks or the breast of a female; or any 

sadomasochistic abuse or acts including animals or any latent objects in an act of 

apparent sexual stimulation or gratification.  (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-203 LICENSE REQUIRED FOR ADULT ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESS.   

 

203.1 It is unlawful for any person to operate or maintain an adult entertainment business 

in the city unless the owner, operator or lessee thereof has obtained an adult 

entertainment business license from the city, or to operate such a business after 

such license has been revoked or suspended by the city.   

 

203.2 It is unlawful for any entertainer, employee or manager to knowingly perform any 

work, service or entertainment directly related to the operation of an unlicensed 

adult entertainment business. 

 

203.3 It shall be prima facie evidence that any adult entertainment business that fails to 

have posted, in the manner required by this section, an adult entertainment 

business license, has not obtained such a license.  In addition, it shall be prima 

facie evidence that any entertainer, employee or manager who performs any 

service or entertainment in an adult entertainment business in which an adult 

entertainment license is not posted, in the manner required by this section, had 

knowledge that such business was not licensed. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 
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5-204 MINORS ACCESS FOR BUSINESSES ENGAGED IN THE SALE OR RENTAL OF 

ADULT MEDIA.  Any business not licensed as an adult entertainment establishment which sells or 

rents adult media shall restrict the access of minors as follows: 

 

204.1 Adult entertainment related movies, videotapes, or other electronic media shall be 

restricted to persons eighteen (18) years of age or older.  If an establishment that 

is not otherwise prohibited from providing access to persons under 18 years of age 

sells, rents, or displays movies, videos, or other electronic media that have been 

rated „X‟ or rated „NC-17‟ by the motion picture rating industry („MPAA‟), or which 

have not been submitted to the MPAA for a rating, and which consist of images 

which are distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on depicting or 

describing specified sexual activities or specified anatomical areas, said movies, 

videos, or other electronic media shall be located in such a way that access is 

limited to persons at least eighteen (18) years of age and shall not be visible from 

outside the premises or from areas within the premises where persons under the 

age of eighteen (18) are allowed. 

 

204.2 Access to adult media shall be restricted to persons at least eighteen (18) years of 

age. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-205 RECORDS MAINTENANCE FOR BUSINESSES ENGAGED IN THE SALE OR RENTAL 

OF ADULT MEDIA.  Any business not licensed as an adult entertainment establishment which 

devotes more than ten percent of its floor area that is used for the display of sale or rental 

merchandise to the display of "adult media," as defined in Section 5-202, shall keep accurate 

records of sales, including but not limited to sales receipts, showing the percentage of gross sales 

of the business derived from the sale or rental of adult media.  Such records shall be made 

available for inspection at reasonable times and places, upon request by a representative of the 

codes administration office of the city or any other city official acting in their official capacity.  The 

records shall document each sale or rental of adult media, the gross receipts from each sale or 

rental, and shall indicate the date of such sale or rental.  Any record inspected by or obtained by 

the city shall be used only for the purpose of determining whether or not the business is an "adult 

media outlet" as defined in Section 5-202.  No records or information contained therein shall be 

divulged to any person other than officers, agents, or employees of the city, including attorneys or 

accountants employed or retained by the city, excepting that the records of information may be 

divulged to the extent reasonably necessary for the enforcement of this section. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 

1) 

 

5-206 LICENSE REQUIRED FOR MANAGERS, SERVERS AND ENTERTAINERS.  It is 

unlawful for any person to work as an entertainer, server or manager at an adult entertainment 

business without first obtaining a license to do so from the city, or to work as an entertainer, 

server or manager at an adult entertainment business after such person's license to do so has 

been revoked or suspended. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-207 LICENSE, CLASSIFICATION AND FEES.  

 

207.1 The license year for all fees required under this article shall be from January 1
st
 

through December 31
st
.  The application for a license shall be accompanied by a 
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certified or cashier's check or money order; and no application shall be considered 

complete until such fee is paid. 

 

207.2 All licenses shall be issued for a specific location and shall be nonrefundable and 

nontransferable. 

 

207.3 The classification of licenses and fees for each shall be as follows: 

 

A. Adult entertainment business license fee is two hundred fifty dollars per year; 

 

B. Adult entertainment manager's license fee is twenty dollars per year; 

 

C. Adult entertainer's license fee is twenty dollars per year; 

 

D. Adult entertainment server's license fee is twenty dollars per year. (Ord. 1943, 

Sec. 1) 

 

5-208 LICENSE APPLICATION.   

 

208.1 Adult Entertainment Business License.  All persons desiring to secure a license to 

operate an adult entertainment business under the provisions of this article shall 

make a verified application with the city clerk.  All applications shall be submitted in 

the name of the person proposing to conduct or operate the adult entertainment 

business.  All applications shall be submitted on a form supplied by the city clerk 

and shall require the following information: 

 

A. The name, residence address, home telephone number, occupation, date and 

place of birth and social security number of the applicant; 

 

B. The name of the adult entertainment business, a description of the adult 

entertainment to be performed or undertaken on the licensed premises, and 

the name of the owner of the premises where the adult entertainment business 

will be located; 

 

C. The names, residence addresses, social security numbers and dates of births 

of all partners, if the applicant is a partnership; and if the applicant is a 

corporation, the same information for all corporate officers, directors and 

stockholders who own more than ten percent or greater interest in the 

corporation; 

 

D. The addresses of the applicant, or of all partners, or of all corporate officers 

and directors for the five years immediately prior to the date of application; 

 

E. A statement from the applicant, or from all partners, or from all corporate 

officers and directors whether any such person or entity, in previously 

operating in this or any other city, county or state, has had a business license 

of any type revoked or suspended, and if so, the reason for the suspension or 
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revocation of the business activity subjected to the suspension or revocation; 

 

F. A statement of the business, occupation or employment of the applicant, or of 

all partners, or of all corporate officers and directors for the three years 

immediately preceding the date of the application; 

 

G. A statement from the applicant, or from each partner, or from each corporate 

officer and director, that each such person has not been convicted of, released 

from confinement for conviction of, or diverted from prosecution on: 

 

1. A felony criminal act within five years immediately preceding the 

application, or 

 

2. A misdemeanor criminal act involving sexual offenses, prostitution, 

promotion of prostitution, sexual abuse of a child, pornography or related 

offenses as defined in the Kansas Criminal Code, or involved controlled 

substances or illegal drugs or narcotics offenses as defined in the Kansas 

Controlled Substances Act or other statutes or ordinances within two years 

immediately preceding the application. 

 

The statement shall also indicate the applicant, each partner or each 

corporation officer and director has not been convicted of a municipal 

ordinance violation, within two years immediately preceding the application 

where such municipal ordinance violation involved sexual offenses, indecent 

exposure, prostitution or sale of controlled substances or illegal drugs or 

narcotics; 

 

H. A full set of fingerprints and a photograph, to be taken by the public safety 

department, of the applicant, or of all partners if the applicant is a partnership, 

or of all corporation officers and directors if the applicant is a corporation; 

 

I. If the applicant is a corporation, a current certificate of registration issued by 

the Kansas Secretary of State; 

 

J. A statement signed under oath that the applicant has personal knowledge of 

the information contained in the application and that the information contained 

therein is true and correct and that the applicant has read the provisions of this 

article regulating adult entertainment businesses; 

 

K. Provision of a statement, acknowledged by a notary public, of the owner of the 

property giving written consent for the use of the property by an adult 

entertainment business. 

 

L. Failure to provide the information and documentation required by this 

subsection shall constitute an incomplete application which shall not be 

processed. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 



 

 5.7 

208.2 Adult Entertainment Manager, Server or Entertainers License.  All persons desiring 

to secure a license under the provisions of this article to be an adult entertainment 

manager, server or entertainer shall make a verified application with the city clerk.  

All applications shall be submitted in the name of the person proposing to be an 

adult entertainment manager, server or entertainer.  All applications shall be 

submitted on a form supplied by the city clerk and shall require the following 

information: 

 

A. The applicant's name, home address, home telephone number, date and place 

of birth, social security number and any stage names, aliases or nicknames 

used in entertaining; 

 

B. The name and address of each adult entertainment business where the 

applicant intends to work as a manager, server or entertainer, and an intent to 

hire statement from an adult entertainment business that is licensed, or that 

has applied for a license, under the provisions of this article, indicating the adult 

entertainment business intends to hire the applicant to manage, serve or 

entertain on the premises; 

 

C. A statement from the applicant that the applicant has not been convicted of, 

released from confinement for conviction of, or diverted from prosecution on: 

 

1. A felony criminal act within four years immediately preceding the 

application, or 

 

2. A misdemeanor criminal act involving sexual offenses, prostitution, 

promotion of prostitution, sexual abuse of a child, pornography or related 

offenses as defined in the Kansas Criminal Code, or involved controlled 

substances or illegal drugs or narcotics offenses as defined in the Kansas 

Controlled Substances Act or other statutes or ordinances, within two years 

immediately preceding the application. 

 

3. The statement shall also indicate the applicant has not been convicted of a 

municipal ordinance violation or diverted from prosecution on a municipal 

ordinance violation, within two years immediately preceding the application 

where such municipal ordinance violation involved sexual offenses, 

indecent exposure, prostitution or sale of controlled substances or illegal 

drugs or narcotics; 

 

D. A full set of fingerprints and a photograph, to be taken by the public safety 

department, of the applicant; 

 

E. The applicant shall present to the city clerk who shall copy documentation that 

the applicant has attained the age of eighteen years at the time the application 

is submitted.  Any of the following shall be accepted as documentation of age: 

 

1. A motor vehicle operator's license issued by any state, bearing the 
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applicant's photograph and date of birth. 

 

2. A state-issued identification card bearing the applicant's photograph and 

date of birth, 

 

3. An official and valid passport issued by the United States of America, 

 

4. An immigration card issued by the United States of America, 

 

5. Any other form of picture identification issued by a governmental entity that 

is deemed reliable by the city clerk, or 

 

6. Any other form of identification that is deemed reliable by the city clerk. 

 

F. Failure to provide the information required by this subsection shall constitute an 

incomplete application and shall not be processed. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

208.3 Application Processing.  Upon receipt of a complete application for an adult 

entertainment business or an adult entertainment business manager, server or 

entertainer license, the city clerk shall immediately transmit one copy of the 

application to the public safety director for investigation of the application.  In 

addition, the city clerk shall transmit a copy of the application to the community 

development director, codes administrator, and the fire marshal.  It shall be the 

duty of the public safety director to investigate such application to determine 

whether the applicant is qualified to be issued the license applied for.  The public 

safety director shall report the results of the investigation to the city clerk not later 

than ten working days from the date the application is received by the city clerk.  It 

shall be the duty of the community development director, codes administrator and 

the fire marshal to determine whether the structure where the adult entertainment 

business will be conducted complies with the requirements and meets the 

standards of the location section of this ordinance, and applicable health, zoning, 

building code, fire and property maintenance ordinances of the city.  The 

community development director, codes administrator and the fire marshal shall 

report the results of their investigation to the city clerk not later than ten working 

days from the date the application is received by the city clerk.  Upon receipt of the 

reports from the public safety director, community development director, codes 

administrator and fire marshal, the city clerk shall schedule the application for 

consideration by the governing body at the earliest meeting consistent with the 

notification requirements established by law, provided the license application for an 

adult entertainment business and for an adult entertainment business manager, 

server or entertainment license shall be approved or disapproved within forty-five 

days from the date of filing of a completed application with the clerk's office.  The 

applicant shall be notified in writing of the date when the governing body will 

consider the application. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 
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5-209 EXAMINATION OF APPLICATION--ISSUANCE OF LICENSE - DISAPPROVAL.   

 

209.1 If the applicant for an adult entertainment business or an adult entertainment 

business manager, server or entertainer is in proper form and accompanied by the 

appropriate license fee, the governing body shall examine the application, and 

after such examination, the governing body shall, if the applicant is qualified, 

approve a license as provided for by law, provided a license shall not be approved 

to any person ineligible pursuant to Section 5-210. 

 

209.2 The record of the governing body shall show the action taken on the application, 

and if the license is approved the governing body shall direct the city clerk to issue 

the proper license.  The license shall state that it is not transferable to other 

persons and the calendar year for which it is issued.  The license shall be kept 

posted in a conspicuous place in the place of business that is licensed or where 

the licensee is working.   

 

209.3 If an application for a license is disapproved, the applicant shall be immediately 

notified by registered or certified mail to the applicant's address as shown on the 

application, and the notification shall state the basis for such disapproval. (Ord. 

1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-210 LICENSE - INELGIBILITY AND DISQUALIFICATION.  No person is eligible nor shall a 

license be issued to: 

 

210.1 An adult entertainment business applicant if one or more of the following conditions 

exist: 

 

A. The applicant's premises is located within five hundred feet of any school, 

church, licensed child care center, park, or single-family residential zoning 

district (including mobile home zoning district).  Measurements shall be made 

in a straight line from the nearest point on the property line of such school, 

church, licensed day care center, or single-family residential zoning district; 

 

B. The applicant's premises is located within five hundred feet of any other adult 

entertainment use for which there is a license issued.  Measurement shall be 

made in a straight line without regard to intervening structures or objects, from 

the nearest point of any exterior wall of the building housing the adult 

entertainment to the nearest point of the exterior walls of the building housing 

such other adult entertainment businesses; 

 

C. The applicant's premises is located in any zoning district other than the 

commercial zoning district (C-3); 

 

D. The applicant failed to supply all of the information requested on the 

application; 

 

 



 

 5.10 

E. The applicant gave materially false, fraudulent or untruthful information on the 

application; 

 

F. The applicant's proposed premises does not comply with or meet the 

requirements of the applicable health, zoning, building code, fire and property 

maintenance ordinance of the city; provided, that upon a showing that the 

premises meets such requirements and that the applicant is otherwise 

qualified, the application shall be subject to reconsideration by the governing 

body; 

 

G. The applicant has had an adult entertainment license revoked or suspended in 

this or any other city or county during the past five years. 

 

210.2 An applicant for an adult entertainment manager, server or entertainer license if 

one or more of the following conditions exists: 

 

A. The employer for who the applicant intends to work does not have or is 

ineligible to receive an adult entertainment business license for any of the 

reasons stated in subsection 201.1 of this section; 

 

B. The applicant has been convicted, released from incarceration for conviction, 

or diverted on any of the crimes set forth in Section 5-208.1(G) during the time 

period set forth in said section; 

 

C. The applicant failed to provide all of the information required on the application; 

 

D. The applicant gave materially false, fraudulent or untruthful information on the 

application; 

 

E. The applicant has had an adult entertainment manager, server or entertainer 

license revoked or suspended in this or any other city or county during the past 

five years. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-211 STANDARD OF CONDUCT.  The following standards of conduct shall be adhered to by 

all adult entertainment business licensees, their employees, all adult entertainment managers, 

servers, entertainers and patrons of adult entertainment businesses, while on or about the 

premises of the business: 

 

211.1 Age Restriction.  Only persons eighteen years of age or older shall be permitted on 

the premises of any adult entertainment business. 

 

211.2 Exterior Observation.  The premises of all adult entertainment businesses will be 

so constructed to include an anteroom, foyer, partition or other physical barrier on 

all customer entrances that will insure observation of the interior of the premises is 

not observable from the exterior of the building. All doorways not constructed with 

an anteroom or foyer will be covered so as to prevent observation of the interior of 

the premises from the exterior of the building.  Any change to the exterior of the 
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building will require site plan approval by the planning commission.  

 

211.3 Exterior Display. All adult entertainment businesses shall comply with the following 

sign requirements in addition to the requirements of the Gardner Zoning 

Ordinance.  No merchandise or pictures of the products or entertainment on the 

premises shall be displayed in window areas or any area where they can be 

viewed from the exterior of the building.  Neither the performance nor any 

photograph, drawing, sketch or other pictorial or graphic representation of a 

performance displaying any portion of the breasts below the top of the areola or 

any portion of the pubic hair, buttocks, genitals and/or anus may be visible outside 

of the adult entertainment business.  Window areas shall not be covered or made 

opaque in any way.  No signs shall be placed in any window.  A one-square-foot 

sign may be placed on the door to state hours of operation and admittance to 

adults only. 

 

211.4 Nudity Prohibited.  No employee, server or entertainer in an adult entertainment 

business shall appear nude, unclothed, in less than opaque attire or in any fashion 

that exposes to view any specified anatomical area. 

 

211.5 Certain Acts Prohibited. 

 

A. No employee, server or entertainer shall perform any specified sexual activities 

as defined in this article, wear or use any devise or covering exposed to view 

which simulates any specified anatomical area, use artificial devices or 

inanimate objects to perform or depict any of the specified sexual activities as 

defined herein, or participate in any act of prostitution. 

 

B. No employee, server, entertainer or patron of an adult entertainment business 

shall knowingly touch, fondle or caress any specified anatomical area of such 

employee, server, entertainer or patron or knowingly permit another person to 

touch, fondle or caress any specified anatomical area of such employee, 

server, entertainer or patron, whether such specified anatomical areas are 

clothed, unclothed, covered or exposed. 

 

C. No employee, server or entertainer of an adult entertainment business shall be 

visible from the exterior of the adult entertainment business while such person 

is unclothed or in such attire, costume or clothing as to expose to view any 

specified anatomical area. 

 

D. No adult entertainer shall solicit, demand or receive a payment or gratuity from 

any patron or customer for any act prohibited by this article and no adult 

entertainer shall receive any payment or gratuity from any customer for any 

entertainment except as follows: 

 

1. While such entertainer is on the stage a customer or patron may place 

such payment or gratuity into a box affixed to the stage; or 
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2. While such entertainer is not on the stage and is clothed so as to not 

expose to view any specified anatomical area, a customer or patron may 

either place such payment or gratuity into the entertainer's hand or under a 

leg garter worn by such entertainer at least four inches below the bottom of 

the pubic region. 

 

E. No owner, operator, manager or other person in charge of the premises of an 

adult entertainment premises shall: 

 

1. Knowingly permit alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverages to be brought 

upon or consumed on the premises; 

 

2. Knowingly allow or permit the sale, distribution, delivery or consumption of 

any controlled substance or illegal drug or narcotic on the premises; 

 

3. Knowingly allow or permit any person under the age of eighteen years of 

age to be in or upon the premises; 

 

4. Knowingly allow or permit any act of prostitution or patronizing prostitution 

on the premises; or 

 

5. Knowingly allow or permit a violation of this article or any other city 

ordinance, provision or state law. 

 

211.6 SIGNS REQUIRED.  All adult entertainment businesses shall have conspicuously 

displayed in the common area at the principal entrance to the premises a sign, on 

which uppercase letters shall be at least two inches high, which shall read as 

follows: 

 
THIS ADULT ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESS 

IS REGULATED AND LICENSED 

BY THE CITY OF GARDNER, KANSAS 

 

ENTERTAINERS ARE: 

 

*Not permitted to engage in any type of sexual conduct or prostitution on the 

premises or to fondle, caress or touch the breasts, pubic region, buttocks or 

genitals of any employee, patron or other entertainer to fondle, caress or touch the 

breasts, pubic region, buttocks or genitals of said entertainer. 

 

*Not permitted to be nude, unclothed, or in less than opaque attire, costume or 

clothing so as to expose to view any portion of the breasts below the top of the 

areola, or any portion of the pubic region, buttocks and/or genitals. 

 

*Not permitted to demand or collect any payment or gratuity from any customer for 

entertainment, except as follows: 
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While such entertainer is on the stage, by placing such payment or gratuity into a 

box affixed to the stage, or 

 

While such entertainer is not on the stage, by either placing such payment or 

gratuity into the entertainer's hand, or under the entertainer's leg garter. 

 
CUSTOMER'S ARE: 

 

*Not permitted to be upon the stage at any time. 

 

*Not permitted to touch, caress or fondle the breasts, pubic region, buttocks, or 

genitals of any employee, server or entertainer or engage in solicitation for 

prostitution. 

 

211.7 LIGHTING REQUIRED.  The premises of all adult entertainment businesses shall 

be equipped with overhead lighting of sufficient intensity to illuminate every place 

to which customers are permitted access at an illumination of not less than one 

foot candle as measured at the floor level, and such illumination must be 

maintained at all times that any customer or patron is present in or on the 

premises. 

 

211.8 CLOSED BOOTHS OR ROOMS PROHIBITED.  The premises of all adult 

entertainment businesses shall be physically arranged in such manner that the 

entire interior portion of any booths, cubicles, rooms or stalls is visible from a 

common area of the premises.  Visibility shall not be blocked or obscured by doors, 

curtains, drapes or any other obstruction whatsoever. 

 

211.9 VENTILATION AND SANITATION REQUIREMENTS.  The premises of all adult 

entertainment businesses shall be kept in a sanitary condition.  Separate dressing 

rooms and rest-rooms for men and women shall at all times be maintained and 

kept in a sanitary condition. 

 

211.10 HOURS OF OPERATION.  No adult entertainment business may be open or in 

use between the hours of two a.m. and nine a.m. on any day other than a Sunday 

when business may not be open between the hours of two a.m. and twelve noon. 

(Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-212 LICENSE--POSTING OR DISPLAY.   

 

212.1 Every person, corporation, partnership or association licensed under this article as 

an adult entertainment business shall post such license in a conspicuous place 

and manner on the adult entertainment facility premises. 

 

212.2 Every person holding an adult entertainment server, manager or entertainer 

license shall post his or her license in his or her work area on the adult 

entertainment facility premises so it shall be readily available for inspection by city 

authorities responsible for enforcement of this article. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 
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5-213 MANAGER ON PREMISES. 

 

213.1 At all times the premises is open for business, an adult entertainment manager 

shall be on duty at an adult entertainment business.  The name of the manager on 

duty shall be prominently posted during business hours. 

 

213.2 It shall be the responsibility of the manager to verify that any person who provides 

adult entertainment or works as a server within the premises possesses a current 

and valid adult entertainer's license or an adult entertainment server's license and 

that such licenses are prominently posted. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-214 INSPECTORS AND INSPECTIONS.  All adult entertainment businesses shall permit 

representatives of the public safety department or any other city official acting in their official 

capacity to inspect the premises as necessary to insure the business is complying with all 

application regulations and laws. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-215 SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OR NONRENEWAL OF LICENSE.  

 

215.1 Whenever the city clerk has information that: 

 

A. The owner or operator of an adult entertainment business or a holder of an 

adult entertainment manager, server or entertainer license has violated, or 

knowingly allowed or permitted the violation of, any of the provisions of this 

article; or  

 

B. There have been recurrent violations of provisions of this article that have 

occurred under such circumstances that the owner or operator of an adult 

entertainment business knew or should have known that such violations were 

committed; or 

 

C. The adult entertainment business license or the adult entertainment manager, 

server or entertainer license was obtained through false statements in the 

application for such license, or renewal thereof; or 

 

D. The adult entertainment business licensee or the adult entertainment manager, 

server or entertainer licensee failed to make a complete disclosure of all 

information in the application for such license, or renewal thereof; or 

 

E. The owner or operator, or any partner, or any corporate officer or director 

holding an adult entertainment business license has become disqualified from 

having a license by a conviction as provided in Section 5-208.1(G); or 

 

F. The holder of an adult entertainment manager, server or entertainer license 

has become disqualified from having a license by a conviction as provided in 

Section 5-208.2(C). 

 

215.2 Then the city clerk shall make this information known to the governing body, which 
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upon five days written notice to the person holding the license conduct a public 

hearing to determine whether the license should be suspended or revoked.  The 

governing body may pass a resolution setting forth the procedures for the conduct 

of such hearings.  Based on the evidence produced at the hearing, the governing 

body may take any of the following actions: 

 

A. Suspend the license for up to ninety days; 

 

B. Revoke the license for the remainder of the license year; 

 

C. Place the license holder on administrative probation for a period of up to one 

year, on the condition that no further violations of this article occur during the 

period of probation.  If a violation does occur and after a hearing the violation is 

determined to have actually occurred, the license shall be revoked for the 

remainder of the license year. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-216 RENEWAL.  

 

216.1 A license may be renewed by making application to the city clerk on application 

forms provided for that purpose.  Licenses shall expire on December 31
st
 of each 

calendar year, and renewal applications for such licenses shall be submitted by 

October 31
st
 of each calendar year. 

 

216.2 Upon timely application and review as provided for a new license, a license issued 

under the provisions of this article shall be renewed by issuance of a new license in 

the manner provided in this article. 

 

216.3 If the application for renewal of a license is not made during the time provided in 

subsection (A) of this section, the expiration of such license shall not be affected, 

and a new application shall be required. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-217 VIOLATION--PENALTY.  It is unlawful for any person to violate any of the provisions of 

this article.  Upon conviction thereof, such person shall be fined not less than one dollar nor more 

than five hundred dollars or be punished by incarceration for up to six months, or by both fine and 

incarceration.  Each day's violation of, or failure, refusal or neglect to comply with, any provision of 

this article shall constitute a separate and distinct offense. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

5-218 SEVERABILITY.  If any section, subsection, paragraph, sentence clause or phrase in this 

article, or any part thereof is for any reason held to be unconstitutional or invalid or ineffective by 

any court of competent jurisdiction, such decisions shall not affect the validity or the effectiveness 

of the remaining portions of this article, or any part thereof. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 1) 

 

 

Article 3.  Massage Establishments. 

 

5-301 DEFINITIONS.  Words and terms used in this article shall have meanings as follow 

unless the context otherwise requires: 
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301.1 BATHHOUSE refers to the occupation of maintaining and operating for 

compensation any services of baths of all kinds, including all forms and methods of 

hydrotherapy. 

 

301.2 BODY-PAINTING STUDIOS means the occupation of maintaining, operating and 

offering any services for compensation of applying paint or other substance, 

whether transparent or nontransparent, to or on the human body when such body 

is wholly or partially nude, by any means of application, technique, or process. 

 

301.3 EMPLOYEE means any person, other than masseurs or masseuses, who renders 

any service to a permittee under this article, who receives compensation from the 

permittee or patron. 

 

301.4 MASSAGE means any method of pressure on or friction against, or stroking, 

kneading, rubbing, tapping, pounding, vibrating, or stimulating of the external soft 

parts of the body with the hands or with the aid of any mechanical or electrical 

apparatus or appliance with or without such supplementary aids as rubbing 

alcohol, liniment, antiseptics, oils, powder, creams, lotions, ointments or other 

similar preparations commonly used in this practice. 

 

301.5 MASSAGE ESTABLISHMENT means any establishment having a place of 

business where any person, firm, partnership, association, or corporation engages 

in or carries on or permits to be engaged in or carried on any of the activities 

mentioned in subsection D of this section for compensation. 

 

301.6 MASSEUR OR MASSEUSE means any person who, for any consideration 

whatsoever, engages in the practice of massage as defined in this article. 

 

301.7 MODELING STUDIO refers to the occupation of maintaining, operating and 

offering any services for compensation of modeling for the purpose of reproducing 

the human body wholly or partially in the nude by means of photography, painting, 

sketching, drawing or otherwise.  To be included within the definition of “modeling 

studios” is the occupation or practices for compensation of offering one‟s body, 

wholly or partially in the nude, for the purpose of having designs of whatever 

nature applied thereto by whatever process or technique with any kind of 

substance whether it be transparent or nontransparent. 

 

301.8 PATRON means any person over eighteen years of age who utilizes or receives 

the services of any establishment subject to the provisions of this article and under 

such circumstances that it is reasonably expected that he or she will pay money or 

give any other consideration therefor. 

 

301.9 RECOGNIZED SCHOOL means any school or institution of learning which has for 

its purpose the teaching of the theory, method, profession, or work of massage, 

which school requires a resident course of study not less than seventy hours to be 

given in not more than three calendar months before the student shall be furnished 

with a diploma or certificate of graduation from such school or institution of learning 
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following the successful completion of such course of study or learning. 

 

301.10 SPECIFIED ANATOMICAL AREAS means human genitals, pubic region; or 

buttock; or female breast or breasts or any combination of the foregoing. (Ord. 

1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-302 PERMIT - REQUIRED.  No person, firm, partnership, association or corporation shall 

operate a bathhouse, massage establishment, body painting studio or modeling studio as defined 

in this article, without first having obtained a permit therefor issued by the governing body of this 

city.  A separate permit shall be required for each and every separate place of business 

conducted by any one permittee, such permit shall be valid only from January 1
st
 to December 31

st
 

of each calendar year. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-303 PERMIT - APPLICATION - FEES. 

 

303.1 Every applicant for a permit to maintain, operate or conduct any such 

establishment shall file an application with the city clerk and pay an annual filing 

fee to the city clerk of two hundred dollars which shall not be refundable or 

prorated. 

 

303.2 The application for a permit to operate any such establishment shall set forth the 

exact nature of the services to be provided, the proposed place of business, and 

facilities therefor, and name, address, and telephone number of each applicant, 

including stockholders holding more than ten percent of the stock of the 

corporation, any partner, when a partnership is involved, and any manager. 

 

303.3 In addition to the foregoing, any applicant for a permit shall furnish the following 

information: 

 

A. Written proof that the applicant is a least eighteen years old; 

 

B. Two portrait photographs at least two inches by two inches and fingerprints;  

 

C. Business, occupation, or employment of the applicant for the three years 

immediately preceding the date of application; 

 

D. The massage, bathhouse, modeling studio, and body painting studio business 

license history of the applicant; whether such person, in previously operating in 

this or another city or state under license, has had such license revoked or 

suspended, the reason therefor, and the business activity or occupation 

subsequent to such action of suspension or revocation; 

 

E. Any criminal convictions, except minor traffic violations, fully disclosing the 

jurisdiction in which convicted and the offense for which convicted and the 

circumstances thereof; 

 

F. In the case of a bathhouse, massage establishment, modeling studio, or body 
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painting studio application, each person shall submit a health certificate from a 

duly licensed physician stating that the applicant has within thirty days prior 

thereto, been examined and found to be free of any contagious or 

communicable disease; 

 

G. Authorization for the city, its agents and employees to seek information and 

conduct an investigation into the truth of the statements set forth in the 

application and qualifications of the applicants for the permit. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 

2) 

 

5-304 PERMIT - ISSUANCE. 

 

304.1 After the filing of an application in the proper form, the governing body shall 

examine the application, and after such examination, shall issue a permit for a 

massage establishment, modeling studio, or body painting studio, unless the 

governing body finds that: 

 

A. The correct permit fee has not been tendered to the city, and, in the case of a 

check or bank draft, honored with payment upon presentation; 

 

B. The operation, as proposed by the applicant, if permitted, would not comply 

with all applicable laws, including, but not limited to, the city‟s building, zoning 

and health regulations.   

 

C. The applicant, if an individual; or any of the stockholders holding more than ten 

percent of the stock of the corporation, any of the officers and directors, if the 

applicant is a corporation; or any of the partners, including limited partners, if 

the applicant is a partnership; and the manager or other person principally in 

charge of the operation of the business, have been convicted of any crime 

which would make any person ineligible to receive a permit under this article, 

unless such conviction occurred at least five years prior to the date of the 

application; 

 

D. The applicant has knowingly made any false, misleading, or fraudulent 

statement of fact in the permit application or in any document required by the 

city in conjunction therewith; 

 

E. The applicant has had a massage establishment, bathhouse, body painting 

studio, or modeling studio as defined in this article, or other similar permit or 

license denied, revoked, or suspended for any of the above causes by the city 

or any other state or local agency within five years prior to the date of the 

application; 

 

F. The applicant, if an individual, or any of the officers and directors, if the 

applicant is a corporation; or any of the partners, including limited partners, if 

the applicant is a partnership; and the manager or other person principally in 

charge of the operation of the business, is not over the age of eighteen years; 
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G. The manager or other person principally in charge of the operation of the 

business would be ineligible to receive a permit under the provisions of this 

article. 

 

304.2 Any permit issued under the provisions of this article, shall at all times be displayed 

by the permittee in an open and conspicuous place on the premises where the 

permitted business is conducted. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-305 PERMIT—SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION.  Rules and regulations pertaining to 

revocation and suspension of business permits shall be as follows: 

 

305.1 Any permit issued for a massage establishment, bathhouse, modeling studio or 

body painting studio may be revoked or suspended by the governing body after a 

public hearing before the governing body where it is found that any of the 

provisions of this article are violated or where the permittee or any employee of the 

permittee, including a masseur or masseuse, has been convicted of any offense 

found in Section 5-308.1, and the permittee has actual or constructive knowledge 

of the violation or conviction or in any case, where the permittee or licensee 

refuses to permit any duly authorized public safety officer of the city or health 

inspector of the county department of health to inspect the premises or the 

operations therein. 

 

305.2 The governing body, before revoking or suspending any permit, shall give the 

permittee at least ten days‟ written notice of the charges against him and the 

opportunity for a public hearing before the governing body, at which time the 

permittee may present evidence bearing upon the question.  In such cases, the 

charges shall be specific and in writing. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-306 EMPLOYEE PERMIT - REQUIRED.  No person shall be employed as an attendant, 

masseur, masseuse, model or as an employee of any kind of an establishment subject to the 

provisions of this article unless he or she has a valid employee‟s permit issued by the city 

pursuant to the provisions of this article. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-307 EMPLOYEE PERMIT - APPLICATION - FEES.   

 

307.1 Any person employed to perform any services in a massage establishment, 

bathhouse, modeling studio or body painting studio, as defined this article, shall file 

a written application with the city clerk and pay an annual filing fee to the city clerk 

of twenty-five dollars which shall not be refundable or prorated. 

 

307.2 The application for an employee permit shall contain the following: 

A. Name, address and telephone number; 

 

B. Two portrait photographs at least two inches by two inches; 

 

C. Applicant‟s weight, height, color of hair and eyes, and fingerprints; 
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D. Written evidence that the applicant is at least eighteen years old; 

 

E. Business, occupation, or employment of the applicant for the three years 

immediately preceding the date of application; 

 

F. Whether such person has ever been convicted of any crime except minor 

traffic violations; if any person mentioned in this subsection has been so 

convicted, a statement must be made giving the place and court in which the 

conviction was obtained and the sentence imposed as a result of such 

conviction; 

 

G. The position or function the applicant is being hired to perform within such 

establishment; 

 

H. A statement in writing from a licensed physician in the state that he or she has 

examined the applicant and believes the applicant to be free of all 

communicable diseases; 

 

I. Authorization for the city, its agents, and employees to seek information and 

conduct an investigation into the truth of the statements set forth in the 

application and qualifications of the applicant for the permit. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 

2) 

 

5-308 EMPLOYEE PERMIT - ISSUANCE.  The city clerk shall issue an employee permit within 

twenty-one days following application unless he or she finds that: 

 

308.1 The applicant for the employee permit has been convicted of: 

 

A. A felony, 

 

B. An offense involving sexual misconduct with children, 

 

C. Obscenity, keeping or residing in a house of ill fame, solicitation of a lewd or 

unlawful act, prostitution or pandering; 

 

308.2 The applicant has knowingly made any false, misleading, or fraudulent statement 

of fact in the permit application or in any document required by the city in 

conjunction therewith;  

 

308.3 That the correct permit fee has not been tendered to the city, and in the case of a 

check or bank draft, honored with payment upon presentation; 

 

308.4 In the case of a masseur or masseuse that the applicant has not successfully 

completed a resident course of study or learning from a recognized school under 

the provisions of this article. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 
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5-309 EMPLOYEE PERMIT - REVOCATION.  Employee permits may be revoked as follows: 

 

309.1 An employee permit is issued by the city clerk shall be revoked or suspended after 

a public hearing before the city clerk or the city clerk‟s designated representative, 

where it appears that the employee has been convicted of any offense enumerated 

in Section 5-308. 

 

309.2 The city clerk, before revoking or suspending any employee permit, shall give the 

employee at least ten days‟ written notice of the examination into his or her 

conviction record and the opportunity for a public hearing before the city clerk or 

the city clerk‟s designated representative, at which hearing the relevant facts 

regarding the occurrence of the conviction shall be determined. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-310 PERMITS - TRANSFER - OTHER LICENSES AND FEES.  Rules and regulations 

pertaining to the transfer of permits, other licenses and fees shall be as follows: 

 

310.1 No massage business, bathhouse, modeling studio, body painting studio, or 

employee permits are transferable, separate or divisible, and such authority as a 

permit confers shall be conferred only on the permittee named therein. 

 

310.2 Any applications made, fees paid and permits obtained under the provisions of this 

article shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any other fees, permits, or licenses 

required to be paid or obtained under any other ordinance of this city. (Ord. 1943, 

Sec. 2) 

 

5-311 APPLICABILITY TO EXISTING BUSINESSES.  Applicability to existing businesses shall 

be as follows: 

 

311.1 The operators of any existing massage establishment, bathhouse, modeling studio 

or body painting studio are required to comply with all provisions of this article 

within ninety days of the effective date of the ordinance codified in this article. 

 

311.2 Applicants for a masseur or masseuse permit may substitute one year‟s 

continuous experience as a masseur or masseuse in lieu of the requirement of a 

diploma or certificate of graduation from a recognized school or other institution of 

learning wherein the method and work of massage is taught.  Such masseur or 

masseuse must obtain an affidavit attesting to such experience from the owner of 

the establishment where the continuous year of experience occurred. (Ord. 1943, 

Sec. 2) 

 

5-312 FACILITIES NECESSARY. 

 

312.1 No permit to conduct a massage establishment, bathhouse, modeling studio or 

body painting studio shall be issued unless an inspection by the director of the 

county department of health or his or her authorized representative reveals that the 

establishment complies with each of the following minimum requirements. 
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A. The walls shall be clean and painted with washable, mold resistant paint in all 

rooms where water or steam baths are given.  Floors shall be free from any 

accumulation of dust, dirt or refuse.  All equipment used in the business‟s 

operation shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.  Towels, linen, 

and items for personal use of operators and patrons shall be clean and freshly 

laundered.  Towels, cloths, and sheets shall not be used for more than one 

patron.  Heavy, white paper may be substituted for sheets; provided, that such 

paper is changed for every patron.  No service or practice shall be carried on 

within a cubicle, room, booth, or any area within any permitted establishment 

which is fitted with a door capable of being locked. 

 

B. Toilet facilities shall be provided in conformance with applicable city, state and 

federal law.  

 

C. Lavatories or washbasins provided with both hot and cold running water shall 

be installed in either the toilet room or a vestibule.  Lavatories or washbasins 

shall be provided with soap in a dispenser and with sanitary towels.  

 

312.2 The director of the county department of health shall certify that the proposed 

business establishment complies with all of the requirements of this article and 

shall give or send such certification to the city clerk; provided, that nothing 

contained in this section shall be construed to eliminate other requirements of 

statute or ordinance concerning the maintenance of premises, nor to preclude 

authorized inspection thereof. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-313 INSPECTIONS—IMMEDIATE RIGHT OF ENTRY.   

 

313.1 Authorized city officials and the county department of health may from time to time 

make an inspection of each permitted establishment in this city for the purpose of 

determining that the provisions of this article are complied with. 

 

313.2 Such inspections shall be made at reasonable times and in a reasonable manner. 

 

313.3 It is unlawful for any permittee to fail to allow such inspection officer immediate 

access to the premises or to hinder such officer in any manner; provided, that any 

failure on the part of any permittee or employee to grant immediate access to such 

inspector shall be grounds for the revocation or suspension of any business or 

employee permit. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-314 EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS-MASSEUR OR MASSEUSE.  Any person, including an 

applicant for a massage establishment permit, who engages or intends to engage in the practice 

of massage as defined in this article, shall upon making application for a permit, supply the name 

and address of the recognized school attended, the date attended, and a copy of the diploma or 

certificate of graduation awarded the applicant showing the applicant has successfully completed 

not less than seventy hours of instruction in the theory, method or practice of massage. (Ord. 

1943, Sec. 2) 
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5-315 IDENTIFICATION CARDS. 

 

315.1 All or any employees issued a permit by the city clerk under the provisions of this 

article shall, at all times when working in an establishment subject to the provisions 

of this article, have in their possession a valid identification card issued by the city 

bearing the employee‟s permit number, the employee‟s physical description, and a 

photograph of such employee. 

 

315.2 Such identification cards shall be laminated to prevent alteration; provided, that all 

persons granted permits under this article shall at all times keep their permits 

available for inspection upon request of any person who by law may inspect same. 

(Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-316 OPERATION REGULATIONS. 

 

316.1 The operation of any bathhouse, massage establishment, modeling studio, or body 

painting studio shall be subject to the following regulations: 

 

A. Hours.  Such business shall be closed and operations shall cease between the 

hours of twelve midnight and six a.m. each day; 

 

B. Separation of Sexes.  It is unlawful for customers of opposite sex to receive 

treatment in the same room or the same quarters at the same time; 

 

C. Danger to Safety and Health.  No service shall be given which is clearly 

dangerous or harmful in the opinion of the director of the county department of 

health to the safety or health of any person, and after such notice in writing to 

the licensee from such director; 

 

D. Alcoholic Beverages.  No alcoholic beverages or cereal malt beverages, nor 

the consumption thereof, shall be allowed, permitted, or suffered to be done in 

or upon any premises permitted under the provisions of this article. 

 

E. Conduct of Premises.  All operators permitted under the provisions of this 

article shall at all times be responsible for the conduct of business on their 

permitted premises and for any act or conduct of any employees which 

constitute a violation of the provisions of this article; any violation of the city, 

state, or federal laws committed on the permitted premises  by any such 

permittee or employee affecting the eligibility or suitability of such person to 

hold a license or permit may be grounds for suspension or revocation of same; 

 

F. Every portion of a permitted establishment, including appliances, and 

personnel shall be kept clean and operated in a sanitary condition; 

 

G. All employees shall be clean and wear clean outer garments which use is 

restricted to the permitted establishment; provisions for a separate dressing 

room for each sex must be available on the premises with individual lockers for 
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each employee; doors to such dressing rooms shall open inward and shall be 

self-closing; 

 

H. All employees, masseurs, and masseuses must be modestly attired; 

diaphanous, flimsy, transparent, form fitting, or tight clothing is prohibited; 

clothing must cover the employees‟, masseurs‟, or masseuses‟ chests at all 

times; 

 

I. The specified anatomical areas of patrons must be covered by towels, cloths, 

or undergarments when in the presence of an employee, masseur, or 

masseuse; any contact with a patron‟s genital area is strictly prohibited; 

 

J. All permitted establishments, when applicable, shall be provided with clean, 

laundered sheets and towels in sufficient quantity and shall be laundered after 

each use thereof and stored in approved, sanitary manner; 

 

K. Wet and dry heat rooms, shower compartments, and toilet rooms shall be 

thoroughly cleaned each day the business is in operation; bathtubs shall be 

thoroughly cleaned after each use. 

 

316.2 The city clerk or the city clerk‟s designated representative may, after a public 

hearing make and enforce reasonable rules and regulations not in conflict with, but 

to carry out, the intent of this article. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-317 RESTRICTION OF BUSINESS TO PREMISES.  All business or activity provided for under 

this article shall be conducted and performed on the respective premises; provided, that 

bathhouse or massage shop permittees or employees at the direction of a duly licensed physician 

may perform their services in behalf of physically incapacitated patients in such patient‟s home, 

residence or other designated place, or such permittee or employee, may render such treatment 

to persons who are bedfast or are so physically incapacitated that it is impractical to provide same 

to such persons at a permitted location; provided further, that all such services so rendered shall 

have received the prior approval of the city clerk or the city clerk‟s authorized representatives. 

(Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-318 SUPERVISION.  A permittee shall have the premises supervised at all times when open 

for business.  Any business rendering massage services shall have one person who qualifies as a 

masseur or masseuse on the premises at all times while the establishment is open.  The 

permittee shall personally supervise the business, and shall not violate or permit others to violate, 

any applicable provisions of this article.  The violation of any such provisions by any agent or 

employee of the permittee shall constitute a violation by the permittee. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-319 EMPLOYEE AND PATRON REGISTERS.  Current and daily registers shall be kept of 

employee and patrons as follows: 

 

319.1 All operators permitted under the provisions of this article shall keep and maintain 

on their premises a current register of all their employees showing such 

employee‟s name, address and permit number.  Such register shall be open to 
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inspection at all reasonable times by any health inspector of the county department 

of health or by any authorized city official. 

 

319.2 Every person who engages in or conducts a permitted establishment shall keep a 

daily register, and hours of arrival and, if applicable, the rooms or cubicles 

assigned.  The daily register shall at all times during business hours be subject to 

inspection by health officials of the county department of health and authorized city 

officials and shall be kept on file for one year. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-320 ADVERTISING.  No establishment granted a permit under provisions of this article shall 

place, publish or distribute, or cause to be placed, published or distributed, any advertising matter 

that depicts any portion of the human body that would reasonably suggest to prospective patrons 

that any service is available other than those services as described in Section 5-301, or that 

employees, masseurs or masseuses are dressed in any manner other than described in Section 

5-316, nor shall any establishment indicate in the text of such advertising that any service is 

available other than those services described in Section 5-301. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-321 UNDER EIGHTEEN YEARS - PROHIBITED ON PREMISES.  Persons under the age of 

eighteen years shall be prohibited on the premises.  No person shall permit any person under the 

age of eighteen years old to come or remain on the premises of any permitted business 

establishment, as masseur, employee, or patron, unless such person is on the premises on lawful 

business. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-322 EXCEPTIONS.  The provisions of this article shall not apply to hospitals, nursing homes, 

sanitariums, or persons holding an unrevoked certificate to practice the healing arts under the 

laws of this state, or persons working under the direction of any such persons or in any such 

establishment, nor shall this article apply to barbers or cosmetologists lawfully carrying out their 

particular profession or business and holding a valid, unrevoked license or certificate of 

registration issued by this state; nor shall this article apply to services of baths or hydrotherapy as 

such services are subordinate, incidental or accessories to some other business with no separate 

or distinct charge being made for such services. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 

 

5-323 VIOLATION - PENALTY.  Any person, firm, partnership, association or corporation 

convicted of violating any of the provisions of this article shall be deemed guilty of a public offense 

and shall be fined in any sum not to exceed five hundred dollars, or be imprisoned not to exceed 

six months, or be both so fined and imprisoned. (Ord. 1943, Sec. 2) 


